How to change your battery on a modern BMW

The other week, my car shouted at me saying my battery is running low on charge, and basically I didn’t want to buy a new battery in this current climate we are in, As I wanted to stay as close to my house as possible.
Instead of buying a new BMW battery for X amount of money, I had a go at changing the battery using a CTEK MXS5.0.
Remember if you change your battery on your newer type BMW, you will HAVE to get the battery registered to the car, if the battery is different in spec, a different brand, or if you change your type of battery, it will need to be coded to your car. This is because the modern BMWs have a special system called IBS (intelligent battery sensor) which always monitors your battery, and stops it from over charging etc. If you put a new battery on, and don’t tell the car, you will likely mess up (and could even explode) your new battery.

Here is a link of how I physically changed the battery on my 2012 BMW 1 series

Good luck

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center