Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/12/18> Making the top 10… and more surprises.

I happened to see the list that the Steem Poker League published the other day that shows the standing for current player of the month points and I have cracked the top ten as of the time the list had published. I didn’t crack it very well, as I am in tenth place but making it in to that spot is pretty good all things considered.

Steem Poker League
There are some real good poker players over there in the Steem Poker League and evidently they have a lot of time on their hands to play cards. The current leader has like 685 points so far this month and has played in 30 tournaments. Second place in the standings is at 677 points and has played in 29 tournaments. I don’t have the time these folks have to play and my 10th place and measly 339 points doesn’t sound like much, and it isn’t, but I have only played in 14 tournaments.

If you dig a little deeper though and divide the points by the number of tournaments it is a whole different ball game and then my numbers are a bit more impressive. My 339 points over 14 tournaments has me earning an average of 24.21 points per tournament, no one else in the top 10 has a better point to tourney average than that, and the leader’s average is 22.85. So even though tenth place doesn’t seem like anything to crow about, I’ll just keep plugging along knowing I am as good as any of those others higher up the leader board with the way I am currently playing.

This is the first time I have paid any attention to these statistics as it was included in the write up covering the Monday night $20 SBD tournament sponsored by @adsactly and won by yours truly. So thanks @adsactly for sponsoring the Monday night games over there, I know myself and all the players appreciate your support of the league.

Speaking of first’s; and no that wasn’t the first tournament I’ve won, I did get another first this week here on steemit.com. At least it is the first legitimate one I am aware of, I’ve gotten a couple others before but those were my own doing. Oh, what is that other first you say?

Down vote or flagged, which ever you prefer to call it, I got my first just last night. If it wasn’t my first it is the first one my little darling Gina informed me about. I didn’t recognize the name in the notification from Gina and I thought to myself; "just how could what I wrote in the Daily Dose for Wednesday cause someone to take issue with me over talking about being left handed and everything being set up in the world for right handed people."

Then it hit me, here I am bitching about some little difficulties and there are some folks that don’t even have any arms and you don’t hear them complaining. Sure enough, that was the case, and here is this American spouting off and wouldn’t you know the one who flagged me appears to be Russian. Vladimere Topiev didn’t leave a comment, just popped me with a down vote, and I guess moved on with his business.

Oh you’re wondering how I know Vlad doesn’t have any arms? I went and checked on Vlad and it is plain as day that this person has no arms, along with several other things it doesn’t have. Turns out that this account is a bot; a down vote bot at that. I looked on steem block explorerer and it is solid down votes page after page after page, I went back several pages before I actually found where this bot had up voted something. Check the link for yourself if you think I am joking. Why would someone go to the time and expense to set up a bot just to go down vote regular old posts like what I produce?

Or could this be a sign of things to come where the bots start turning against the system? It may be where we start seeing this happen with a lot more frequency if these bots can now start deciding to go rogue and do as they please. I wasn’t happy that I got a down vote, and I am damn sure not happy it came from a bot. If I deserve a down vote that is fine, I would at least like it to be from someone that actually read what I wrote and got angry with me for what I wrote.
The humans over at Curie must have liked it; I just saw a message from Gina saying @curie commented on my post, I need to go see what that is all about.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center