Second week of Welding school

For week 2 we began where we left off, making lines across a piece of steel with different electrodes. As we continued our progress the instructor had us continue to making a lap joint. This is much different from what we had been doing as we actually had began joining steel together!

image

image

Lap joints did not come to me easily. Getting the proper distance and angle is a constant challenge as you are learning, and even if you get both your travel speed across the workpiece is always the defining characteristic. Too fast and you can't stick anything together, too slow and you can destroy your weld. Travel speed, travel speed, travel speed. I continuously hear my instructors voice in my head. "Travel speed, you're to far away from your workpiece, travel speed, your angle is wrong. " He doesn't even need to come into my booth, he's already in my head. We were using 7024 electrodes which we hadn't used since the first day. I was not used to the fast fill of the 7024 anymore and it was a little rough at first.

image

After lap joints we moved on to T joints. It was the day after lap joints and I'm not sure why but I took straight to them. Concept wise. My fine tuning and beautification would still take some time, but I was overall pleased with T joints.

image

Thanks for reading!!! If you made it this far you are awesome. And you could be more awesome by following me on Twitch and YouTube. Both accounts are completely free to make and following me is as easy as clicking the follow button on Twitch or the subscribe on YouTube. And it's free! It costs you nothing and you're just helping me out. So click a link, and follow me! Steem on!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCh0vPc5k8uK1xZn5DsRLi7A

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center