Losing Cryptocurrencies For Dummies

It's been more than a year since I got into cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology. I've tried almost anything you can think of to acquire some cryptos. From investing my own hard earned money to trading, cloud mining and wasting time with faucets and gambling sites. If by any chance you are wondering what is the worst way to make cryptos, just take my advice. Experience is the greatest teacher.


Cloud Mining

I lost track how many fake websites I encountered, and lost money to them, especially at the beginning of my journey. If you are just starting out, don't start with cloud mining. Even if you find a legitimate one, profits are small, and some contracts literally take years to get your initial investment back. When you buy a certain amount of hash rate it's expected that you will receive an equal amount of coins every day, right? The reality is quite different. For example, I use Hashflare and when the price of Bitcoin jumps they lower daily earnings. This means the more expensive the coin gets the fewer coins I get.

As you can see as the price of Bitcoin jumped I got fewer coins. You do get more or less the same daily amount of dollars in your mining account. But it doesn't work like trading.

Hardware Mining

Litecoin-Rig.jpg

Typical mining rig

-

Mining with your own hardware is not really for everyone​, not to mention the electric bill. You can try mining with your own computer but chances are you are going to burn your CPU or do some other damage to your machine.

Trading

bitcoin-trader.jpg

-

Trading is also a great way to lose money if you are not sure what are you doing. I saw a coin on the rise, I bought some. The next day I lost like​ 50% of my investment because ... well, I have no idea why. I rush to sell it all of it back to Bitcoin, three weeks later it's worth​ 10 times​ as much, and I'm wondering what the hell happened​. My advice is if you are just starting​ to trade, buy low and just keep your coins until there is a significant jump in price to sell them. Who knows maybe one day they will be worth millions. Daily trading is also probably not a good idea.​

Faucets

Faucets just suck! You don't really earn any money, you just lose time watching ads and solving​ captchas all day.


Gambling​

gambling-poker-trading.jpg

-

Gambling is a lot like trading in my opinion. If you get lucky or really have an​ in-depth understanding how the game works then,​ sure you have a chance. The moment you think you win any money, here comes a weak hand to take it all away. Then​ you want to deposit more, you lose again, deposit more...you see where I'm going with this.

Fake Online Wallets

If you are looking for a convenient​ way to store and transfer your balance than an online wallet may be just for you.Unfortunately, ​there are tons of fake ones out there, so be very careful​before​r you use an​ online wallet. Recenly I lost some Dash coins to one.

Just Steemit

U5dqqDTQK8uYYAk8Y33qd49Us9QQFZT_1680x8400.jpg

In August ​I found out about Steemit. It was completely​ new to​ me and helped me understand how it all works, through the community and engagement I got. For now, the most profitable way I make cryptos is with Steem. No, this is not an advertisement! All I ever invested was my time and dedication and here I am with almost 9000 Steem in my wallet and 700 followers to thank for.

Image sources: 1,2,3,4,5

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now