😵 "Dark Pinup" - when you know, you really really want something

You know, you really really want something, when you order it knowing, that shipping costs more than half of the product. And you pay, before it is actually produced... at least that's how I understood the pre order thing of "Dark Pinup" by Lars Kommienezuspadt. Which was alright with me, as I saw the potential and the value of the project and I wanted to contribute my share to making it a success.

I had been loosely following the blog of @kommienezuspadt from my early days of steemit last summer and was always impressed with the quality of his work. Although he is widely known as a brilliant photographer, I like his drawing even better. More than once, I have just sat there wondering, how anyone can develop these characters and draw like that.

But now, back to the subject of today's post...

When Lars Kommienezuspadt announced, he was going to have his photography published in a book, I knew I had to have it. But as with all things special, it wasn't going to be that easy after all. First I had a bit of a problem with the ordering. Thank god @wcpublishing at workingclasspublishing.com has excellent customer service and they helped me quickly. I placed my "pre order" and prepared myself for the wait... although patience is not my strong side. At least, when I am not painting.

Almost three weeks ago, I got an email with the message, that my book was just put in the mail. WOW, I was getting so excited. Figured about one week and I'd finally hold it in my hands...

Little did I know...

Ok, it did take about a week. 10 days to be precise and then the tracking info of the USPS said package delivered 🤩

But instead of my book, I received a letter. From the German post. That a package had been handed over to the German customs office.

😠

I was told that I had one week to go pick it up. And bring enough cash to pay the duties!! For a book that costs a little over 50 Euro! 😡 Did I mention, that its a one hour drive to that office?

Of course you were given the alternative to decline it and have it sent back. For free!! Hahaha...

Well, I really really wanted my book, so I went to get it yesterday. I think importing a tank wouldn't have been much harder. I had to open the package at the office, and the "contents" were thoroughly inspected. Although I have to give the officer credit. He tried very hard, not to show too much interest in the photos. 10 Minutes later (I'm not exaggerating) the paperwork was finally done and I was turned over to the cashier!

Alright, I must say they did apologize for the wait and told me, if I had imported 1000 books, it would be the exact same procedure. Except for the three zeros. OK, I'll consider that next time 😶

Phew, thank god I had been alerted to bring enough cash. The cashier finally printed out the bill and I paid some 5 Euro in import tax.

And here it is!!!

IMG_0153.jpg

What a beauty. And my kind of book. 1% text and the rest photos, photos, photos! A real treasure chest. And even my favorite Kommienezuspadt model @vermillionfox is in there, yay!

IMG_0158.jpg

So, in the end it turned out well worth the trouble, and I'd order it again any time. If you like Lars Kommienezuspadt's work, you should definitely get your own copy at workingclasspublishing.com. If you live in Germany... well, you should be prepared after reading this 😉

My biggest compliments to @kommienezuspadt and all who participated to this wonderful book!


Photos taken by me of "Dark Pinup" by Lars Kommienezuspadt



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on sola

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center