Reliving my childhood with 90s cartoons- The Courage teory

cartoon-network-90s-cartoons.jpg
Image source:http://flashlarevista.com/content/90s-cartoons-list-its.html

So I have recently decided to dive back into my childhood days by getting some of the old cartoons that I grew up with. Gosh now I feel old.

I started off with Courage the cowardly dog, which is still an all time favorite. Though it is only now that I realized how creepy this show actually is (doesn’t stop me from loving it). It did make me wonder however, what the actual idea behind this show really was. I then dived into research mode and found some cool theories about this show. I only found two theories and out of the two only once made sense to me

3541654-7107536586-tumbl.jpg
Image source: https://bruinvoice.net/2445/dupdate/review-courage-the-cowardly-dog/

The first one I found said that Courage was actually in hell and Eustace was the devil and Muriel was mankind and Courage had to protect mankind from all the Devil’s horrors. I don’t want to focus too much on this one but I’ll post the link where I found it if you wanna read more.

2074486ecb2fc52347b669067125c0ca.jpg
Image source: https://za.pinterest.com/pin/545005992397516550/?lp=true

The second one that I found was that Courage was simply imagining everything. The theory says that Courage is a normal dog in a normal world who has never left his home, which why he thinks he’s in the middle of nowhere. He doesn’t know what goes on beyond the walls of his home. It also says that the monsters he constantly sees are normal people but he sees them all as the threat. This theory actually makes a tuna of sense when you think about it, but it also kills some of the creep factor that the show has going for it.

The reason why I say it makes sense is because; if you think of the way dogs act around strangest. Who’s to say they don’t also see them as strange monsters that their master needs protection from. I have no idea what goes on in my dogs heads 90% of the time, and there have been times where I found them barking at absolute nothingness. My boy is especially sceptical of stingers and would start barking at even the people down the street if they caught his eye. My girl is currently barking at the wind as I’m typing, so the fact that Courage’s world is pretty ordinary does make total sense to me. It would also explain why Eustace and Muriel are the only normal people in the strange world.

My goal is to figure out which one of these theories is more evident in the show and maybe I’ll come up with my own theory by the end of the show.

I would love to know how much you all remember of this show and who actually still watches it. let me know in the comments below also don’t forget to UPVOTE and REESTEEM if you enjoyed this post.

Also Remember to give me a follow to read more of my posts.

Theory link: http://fantheories.wikia.com/wiki/Courage_the_Cowardly_Dog

signature_2.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now