Shooting fireworks

There's something really special about fireworks. They tend to ignite the wonder of all who observe them - like little kids in a playground, we flock to them, crank our necks and let out a silent or audible "wow" - and then hope that the last one we see isn't the grand finale of the show.

But what makes it frustrating is trying to capture fireworks the way our eyes and imaginations do. And this was my challenge at the Vivid Sydney show a few years back. Along Darling Harbour, a short but sweet fireworks show erupted every hour or so. And there was little time to get your camera settings right to capture the show.

So when I shot the following shots, I was pleased that I accomplished my mission as they captured the pathways and the colours that the fireworks took. And I was able to go back to them time and time again to reignite the wonder of it all.

Hope you enjoy.
~paradigmblue

130606_Vivid_Festival_89_FINAL HDR.jpg

130606_Vivid_Festival_93_FINAL HDR.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now