Donating My Hair To Cancer - In Memory Of Grandma

On Friday, January 26th at 4:55am my grandmother, Edna Weninger, passed away. A wonderful woman that cared about everyone around her deeply and unconditionally. She had been diagnosed with breast cancer several years ago and though it had gotten under control the complications from the procedures left her with a weakened immune system and chronic lung infections. It was a hard last few years for her, so I'm glad she's now at peace.

I'd been growing out my hair for about 5 years, with the occasional trim, and decided to have it cut off and donated to the Canadian Cancer Society to make wigs for cancer patients. I figured I'd share the process here, although there's not much to it.

20180129_104610.jpg

Hair's got to to be clean, so I took a shower before leaving the house. There's still a bit of curl to my hair, but this is a better indication of the length than if it were dry. Stretched it came down to about my belly button.

20180129_114250.jpg

At the hair salon here. The stylist took a farewell picture of my hair before she got to work. I still hope my frizzy hair doesn't cause any problems in the wig making procedures.

20180129_115527.jpg

The stylist tied up my hair inter several ponytails. I believe there were 8 in all, enough for 2 wigs. I always had thick hair, so there was plenty to work with.

20180129_144518.jpg

And the comparison shot. I got my beard shaved off too. Kind of regret that, I think I looked pretty good with short hair and a beard, but I got it done with a straight razor which was kind of cool.

20180129_134155.jpg

The donation, all ready to go and delivered to the CCS. Just had to have it collected in ponytails and bagged up before driving it down to one of their offices.

It's strange having short hair again for the first time in half a decade, but it's not too bad. Bit cold. I hope my donation goes on to help some people who are struggling like my grandma was. May she rest in peace.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now