Blue Hair and the Blues

Autumn is here in earnest now. Nights are cold. Snow may be here soon. I don't like it. I wouldn't mind so much, but between chronic illness and old injuries, this is not a fun time. I have a constant flu-like body ache, and my back is bothering me more. On the bright side, it seems the forest fire smoke is diminishing as cool, moist air is coming through the region. The air is less blue, but I am more so.

Grousing and melodramatic exaggeration done. Time for another library story!

My day began earlier than usual. I had a meeting with the district adult programming coordinator to discuss updates to our strategic plan and how it would impact my work. It looks like they are being bureaucratic, and substituting paperwork for progress.

After the meeting, we went back to the usual opening procedures. There was a youth program in our meeting room, so Ms. M. opened our front door a bit early for the eager participants. When I went to make sure everything was fully unlocked, I noticed a young lady with incredibly vibrant blue hair browsing our used book sale shelf.

Blue Hair.png

Image hastily and poorly made in Canva

When she came to the front desk a few minutes later, she asked about applying for a library card. She didn't have any address verification documents, but I told her she could take the application to bring it back later, and invited her to browse the library. I also noticed the dye job was recent due to stains on her neck under her messy bun.

While I was checking in returned items a few minutes later, I overheard Ms. C having a heated discussion with someone on the phone. I also saw Ms. A. scamper out to the circulation deck to fetch a blank library card. When the call was done, I went back to see what was up. Apparently an irate mother going full Karen on my manager.

Nothing irritates us more than someone going full Karen on our manager. Especially when the Karen responds to basic library policy with, "Don't you know who I am?" Public service is a never-ending circus. If only the clowns were funnier. The woman on the other end of the line was upset about someone not getting a card the day before. None of us could recall this encounter. But when Ms. C mentioned "blue hair," I had a hunch the card was for that same young lady I had just seen at the front desk.

Fortunately, Blue Hair herself remained pleasant throughout her visit. She half-apologetically mentioned that her brothers were a couple tow-headed boys we know from their computer use, occasional obnoxious noise, and frequent forgotten library cards. We weren't going to hold the antics of those boys against her, much less her mess of a mother. Once her account was set up, I helped her place a hold for a book elsewhere in our network and all was well.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center