An ethical principle to keep in the closet ?

I hardly speak up when it comes to unveiling what I do in my professional field. But once is not customary, I will try to reveal to you a dilemma that sometimes weighs on my conscience. This slight problem is directly related to the function I now perform...

Harvesting your private space

In the commercial sector, which I was able to join a short while ago, as well as for the "needs" of a large French rail transport company, I am led to take personal information from the users who have to use our network. However, under this harmless approach, a wolf hides itself: that of disclosing information from a clientele to a third party, without the concerned parties being aware of their condition. Because from the point of view of creating a file in order to build loyalty, we know that this procedure is not entirely beneficial for the person concerned. On the contrary, companies or organizations that are not scrupulous and respectful of our customers' data, do not hesitate to tap into this high-potential pool, with the sole aim of making a profit on our backs. We all know that this process, which leaves us with no state of mind and intrudes indiscreetly into our intimacy, is more than toxic. So, as you will have understood, I serve as an intermediary to the candid aspect, for this dirty work, before by obligation, to collect date of birth, email and phone number...

Add to that the risk of computer insecurity since each workstation runs on Windows (some are still running Win95...) and we have a time bomb that could explode in flight. Causing irremediable collateral damage. Yes, there is a real potential danger that this information could fall into the wrong hands... I'm not an expert in security or computer science, but basic notions and digital education are the first protections against the abuses we've already experienced! My company's throwing it all away to the nettles...

What should I do about it?

Given the extent of my concerns, I have of course shared them with my instructors. Their only answers were to tell me that it was now quite normal and usual. You can't make omelettes without breaking eggs! Amazing and horror on my part! Do they realize the seriousness of such an act and the consequences it can have? I, who is concerned about my own tranquillity and pseudo-anonymity on the net, do not tolerate this kind of practice.
Are we not saying not to make others suffer what we do not wish to suffer in return? It's a real problem, and it's less of a guilt. How should I accept it? Shouldn't I be doing some kind of prevention on my part, at the risk of harming myself professionally? In short, here is a quasi-existential question that I have to face every time I take up a service...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center