How to Deal with Steemit Price-Induced Nausea

hansikhouse_nausea.jpg

1st World Problems


Well hell. Would you look at that price. I’m not even quite sure how to express my reaction to seeing Steem go from sub-dollar to over 8 in a few months. It’s back to hovering at 6-7 but we all know this is a prelude to bigger movement in the future. We’ve seen an uptick in posts, uptick in signups, and an uptick in daily engagement. Overall, the ecosystem of Steem is experiencing its first real engine revving since last late-spring.

And if you were like me, you’ve been getting a lot less sleep from a mixture of anticipation and disbelief. I for one am feeling daily nausea for the first time in my life. I lose my appetite and get a bit dizzy, constantly trying to understand what the hell will happen in these next few months/years of my life.

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 7.11.50 PM.png

I’ve tried a couple new things to combat this strange optimistic angst. I’ve started some periodic deep breathing exercises and even started doing weekly yoga with my wife. It’s important to keep a straight head on our shoulders during these wild rides. I’m still experimenting with how to deal with this sense of vertigo but here are some of the basic ones that I thought I would share and be of use to anyone who can find some kernel of value out of the simple list -

Take a Break from the Screen


Especially in these winter months (unless you’re liv’n it up in Bali after the Steem boom) with dry weather, it’s important to step away from the computer as much as you can. There is an infinite amount of things to do on Steemit - posting, commenting, upvoting, flagging, browsing, muting, etc. - and that indefinite amount of options keeps the eyes wide and dry.

Computer users on average blink only 10-20% of the amount they would doing normal non-digital activities, causing much more dryness and irritation. Moisture is an eye’s best friend and it’s vital to take breaks often - a recommended few minutes after each 20 minutes - before your eyes get stuck to the screen.

There are a few subtle tricks to naturally induce more blinking. This includes using overall dimmer screens and using applications like Flux to warm the screen with softer colors over the course of the day. The type of light coming into your room or work space are also impactful and is generally suggested to have ambient light at about 50% that of a fully-lit office with harsh natural light and glare eliminated.

For more tips on eye health, check out the link here.

Make Reasons to Step Away


Everything on moderation. Just as with any hobby or vice, it’s healthy to take some time away. Nurturing other interests and practices will encourage you to not spend so much time sucked into the platform and checking Coinmarketcap every few moments. In fact, I highly recommend focusing on other hobbies and activities as a way to keep the creative juices flowing for future posts.

I end up forcing myself out the door at least each weekend to do some city roaming and catching up with other interests. I’ve tried to focus on non-tv or computer oriented hobbies, even picking up my older hobby of Magic the Gathering that has recently fallen out of favor. I’m curious what everyone else does on their free time!

Keep Steeming!


On second (or third?) thought, maybe it’s just best to keep going as long as we can! Who knows what Steem has in store for us and maybe the next few months might be less exciting than recent weeks. So you know what? Just keep going! Post like madmen and madwomen!

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 7.15.55 PM.png

The Turbulence Continues


We’re all going to have to grow thicker skin and stronger stomachs in the weeks and months to come. Over $8, under $6, moonshots and big cash-outs - we’re in for much more dynamic action than we saw most of early last year and in the late summer/fall. But we all have faith that we’ll get to the desired destination without too many barf-bags.

Let me know if you have any other tactics of what you do to keep the over-excitement at a balanced level. As always, throw me your comments below!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center