The Sculptor Mathias Gasteiger

Good day dear Hive community, first of all I would like to welcome you all to my contribution and hope you had a day that has brought some positive experiences to your life! In my new post, I would like to talk about art history and hope you can expand your knowledge a little.

_DSC2681.JPG

You can see here a sculpture that represents a deer together with his child which is not only of great importance in Greek mythology and is often associated with the goddess Artemis or Freya from Norse mythology but has also been of great importance in art for centuries. Gasteiger was also enthusiastic about the mythology of different cultures and was inspired by it a lot for his works and in one of my future contributions I will probably go into even more detail about this animal in symbolism and mythology and in this contribution I would like to devote myself to the creator of this work who is also the sculptor Mathias Gasteiger (1871 - 1934) and in one of my last contributions I have already gone into more detail about his wife who was also an important artist and who wants to learn more about her, find my contribution here. His works became very detailed and authentic and you can see in his works what passion he has put into the creation of his works and not without reason he is considered one of the most famous sculptors of his time and he expanded his interest more and more and decided to buy a quarry and his goal was to build a company that should specialize in the sale of marble which is one of the most important materials for sculptors and for his own works he also liked to use metal and in total he owned two quarries and was also involved in mining and logistics, however, when he wanted to expand further, there were some complications that stopped him. He studied in Munich and decided to attend the Academy of Art and after graduation he devoted himself to his art and even opened his own studio in Munich and he made more and more acquaintances with other artists and even decided to teach art and there he later met his wife. Gasteiger quickly made a name for himself and he exhibited his sculptures in many different places and received many honors and also made himself very popular as an entrepreneur and he also got more and more attention in other countries and I personally admire his works very much.

_DSC2677.JPG

_DSC2680.JPG

_DSC2679.JPG

Thank you very much for stopping by and I hope you could learn something new about art history! I captured these pictures with my Camera Sony Alpha 6000 plus 55-210 mm lens!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center