THE BUILD: The House. Stairs.

HELLO EVERYBODY!

This week at the Silver Fox's house I did a bunch of back framing. I had to change some things, add somethings, really just make it work. After the trades are in including plumbers, heating and cooling, electrical, they cut framing apart to get their material in the walls and ceilings. I go behind them and frame everything better then it was before, oh ya I do. This work is not that exciting for pictures. But I did enjoy it.

At the end of the week I built the indoor upper floor stairs. The stairs are 7 5/8" Rise and 10" Run. About 38 degrees and 7 steps. Here is a quick photoshoot so you can see how that is done. Everything (except the treads) was also bonded with PL Premium adhesive and 3 1/4" Galvanized nails and Various Deck Screws.

  1. These are the Old Temporary Stairs. Demo Time.
    old stairs.jpg

  2. No stairs. Just like Magic.
    no stairs.jpg

  3. New LVL Stringers (beasts) On the wall side, there is 3/4" piece of plywood attached to stringer for drywall to land on.
    new stringers.jpg

  4. Reinforced the middle with 2x4 L's. Also a wall under one side for drywall.
    reinforced.jpg
    You see that Level on the Floor, be sure to keep it close by.

  5. Underneath backing support for drywall. Planes out to bottom of lower LVL, this was an adventure but worked out perfectly.
    drywall backing.jpg

  6. New Temporary Treads. The actual treads will be with 3 1/8th " thick Glue Lams. Big ones.
    new treads.jpg

  7. Next Set Going In. We attached the stringer to the studs with 5" GRK's.
    next set.jpg

  8. Reinforced stringers with 2x4 L's.

reinforced2.jpg

  1. Backing for drywall under steps.

Backing.jpg

  1. New Temp Treads, these were not glued on, everything else was.

temp treads.jpg

  1. Finished and Added a Hand Rail for safety.

finished hand rail.jpg

Well that's it folks hope you enjoyed the process. If you have any questions please do let me know in the comment section. Also if you know better ways of doing any of what I show on THE BUILD definitely tell me! That would be awesome!

Here's a gem I saw today hiking with my little man Omni, a little bit of Kimberley Nature Park Magic!

nature park magic.jpg

This message has been brought to you by the number 23 and the letter I.
It has been approved by @egregorian and the Leonard Learning Institute.
All pictures and videos on my posts unless credited are my personal photo's and copyright property.
I am @EGREGORIAN.

Follow, Comment, Upvote, Resteem!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center