Run Disney Weekend - 5K


So This post is divided in three sections, the 5k, the 10k and the half marathon.

Yes you have read this correctly, I ran the 36k challenge and I SURVIVED!!!


After packing double the amount of clothing, sportswear and dress-ups, we were off to Disney Paris for the Magic Run Marathon Weekend. A long-time friend of mine went with her in-laws to run the 5k, Jay ran the 10k along with me and the 21k I had to do on my own (with the support of my parents and Jay off course).

Once arrived at hotel Santa Fe, we dropped our stuff and headed for the runners Expo to pick up our gEARbags. It was a lot better arranged than last time. It was really clear where to go for our pick up and what to do next.

Jay and I split up, he had to pick up his stuff at the 10k area, and I went to the 36k challenge area. We picked up our stuff and did the mandatory pre-run mugshots.

By the way, what was in my gEARbag was amazing! A bag full of shirts, I actually got five shirts, one for each run and extra for the 31k and 36k challenge.
– remind me next time to not pack any shirts, for I came back with more than I could actually fit in my bag.-

After all the organizational things, we went into the park for a moment, because we knew we wouldn’t get a lot of park time with a run on each day. The park was quite busy, so we strolled around for about two hours and then it was time to get changed for run number 1.

5K Run


The 5k took place on the arrival day, Friday-evening at eight. I jumped in my slave Leia outfit and attached the number. Checked if every clothing item would stay in place during the run. And it actually did!

My friend had arranged with her family to all go in a star wars themed outfit as well, so it was quite fun to run with them. We were all there, and there was even two Leia’s. So we met up and walked towards our starting point together. I was supposed to start from corral B, but my co-StarWars-stars had to start from corral C, so I dropped down one, and off we went.

After a kilometre, I noticed that my friend and her family were going somewhat too fast for what I had planned out for myself. I wanted to save my energy because I still had two more runs to go the next days. So I slowed down and told them I would catch up with them towards the finish line. And I did.

We caught up afterward and took some pictures together, we were after all dressed as the same character from different parts of the films. We had such a great time together, but unfortunately, we didn’t see each other during the weekend very much, we had a very different time schedule, for I had to run the next two days.

After the run, the four of us (my parents, Jay and me) went to Annette’s to grab some food. I settled for a simple cheeseburger, for I knew that wouldn’t give me too much problems during the 10k the next morning. It was also pretty late to get food, so it had to be easily digestible. Jay on the other hand, chose to grab a burger with bacon and onions and everything I warned him about not getting, because that would give him problems during the 10k. And he really got what was coming for him, poor thing. After dinner, it was time for bed, we had to get breakfast around 5 the next morning so we needed to get every sleep possible.

I know every mile is worth my while, I can go the distance


- Hercules -


signature5c09384672ede.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center