My Top 5 Picks for Open Source Products in Steem Hunt #1!

My Top 5 and Why I Picked Them!

The following picks are arranged in Alphabetical order only and has not been ranked from 1-5. However, they are my top 5 picks from all Open Source -related contributions posted through @steemhunt in the past few days. If you have extra time, please do check them out.

I have provide a brief description of the products as well as relevant links and screenshots from @steemhunt and other sites. Here they are:


Audacity: Open Source music editing and more! originally posted by @mindblast on steemhunt

It is a free and open sourced software that enables digital recording and post-processing of audio materials.

Why This? When Auto-tune was hyped in the RNB and Hip Hop music industry I wanted to try my hands on it, however it's a premium application that required me to pay a big sum (for me) that time, so I looked for alternative and I stumbled upon Audacity and have enjoyed using the product that time. It's a good product worth sharing!


Common Voice: A collection of voice date by Mozilla originally posted by @acdevan on steemhunt.

Mozilla is kind of the rival for Google and Apple in regards to web usage (browsers and plug-ins) but their project are not limited to those things. Like Common Voice which is used to collect. open source data for human voice designed to improve machine learning capability to improve lots of projects.

Why This? As a Filipino language speaker, and not having English as my native tongue, I find voice activation/recognition features difficult most of the time, either I try to improve my accent and diction or just try a different application altogether. With Common Voice being open-sourced, Filipinos can help contribute to this project to enable widespread adaptation by Filipino users. This could also affect other international communities that has trouble with using voice activation and recognition features.


Font Awesome: Open Sourced vector logos and icons! originally posted by @jayplayco on steemhunt.

Open Source is not limited to codes and programs, graphics can be open sourced as well. The graphics in this product has been integrated into a font style allowing easier use in terms of loading and compatibility with applications and browsers.

Why This? I have been a fan of Open Source - especially gaming-centric ones and graphic-centric ones, since I myself am trying to be a graphic designer and a web developer. Things like Font Awesome help out a lot in most projects if you know how to use it properly. Contributing could be easier as well since this is my line of work.


Lakka: Turn your Nintendo Switch into an emulator! originally posted by @rebelheart on steemhunt

This application enables you to play your old console games through your Switch device by making it an emulator. Games such as NES, SNES, N64, Sega Mega Drive, Game Boy, PlayStation Portable and even PlayStation One game are playable with this Open Source product.

Why This? Ever since I've had a mobile phone, I always had emulator applications installed in it to enable me to play old console games (like Pokemon and Mario, etc) so Lakka is something very likeable since it enables a Nintendo Switch to do the same thing (I do not have one, but I want one and msot probably, it will have Lakka on it or similar apps to enable me to play oldie but goodie games on the Switch).


Pocket Beagle: Computer in your pocket! originally posted by @themanualbot on steemhunt

This product is an ulta-tiny computer and it's also open source. Armed with cost-effectiveness and simplicity, beginners and professional are able to enjoy a wide variety of allowable configuration that can be placed inside this little computing gear!

Why This? I have been a fan of the Arduino and Pi computing machines, which are the same as Pocket Beagle - a miniature computer. Programming and building things out of the likes could prove wonders and showcases how people can be good with both software and hardware.


I hope you've enjoyed this Top 5 list of Hunting the Hunts featuring some posts/contributions inside steemhunt.com. I will strive to make this an ongoing project to support Hunting and Open Source!


footer.png

deveerei new.png

deveerei.png

spacer.png

Source.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center