Free of Cost: Personal Discussion

Hello Teacher David,

I’m running into problems following the 8 Fold Path in the workplace.

I used to be more assertive with everyone at my business. I did not follow Right Speech and I was not “teachings level” kind and understanding of people although I was more kind and understanding than most already in my industry.

I’ve been living the 8 Fold Path throughout my life, including at work. I am not aggressive with anyone anymore. However, it’s not working. My employees are abusing my patience and feel they can just do whatever they want now. They don’t even acknowledge my requests for days on end. I have basically lost my authority because I’m too kind to them.

I would fire them, but I can’t. The labor situation in the United States is dreadful. If I fire them there is no one to replace them. That is part of the reason they act this way.

This is really bothering me. I can’t get them to do simple things required of the job anymore because they do not see me as an authority figure, [but] as someone with no teeth/claws anymore.

I do not know how to reconcile the Teachings and my position running my business. The Teachings are imploding my ability to be an effective leader as sometimes you actually do need to be aggressive to lead. Not all the time, but 3% of the time or so.

Do you have any advice on how I can practice loving kindness, but still effectively have “teeth” to occasionally nip at problem people to get them back in line? It is the USA so people are culturally aggressive and there is a pecking order. I’ve fallen on the pecking order due to being too kind.

I am trying to reset my own cleaning and expectations, but if I do that, the business will go under. It is already floundering thanks to me applying the Teachings to this part of my life and being too kind/understanding.

Thank you for any insight. This is a very difficult question I realize.


Teacher David replies.

Dear Derek...sure, I will help you.

You are not yet fully applying The Teachings or else, you would not be having these issues.

I realize you are attributing the difficulties you are having to being too kind, but that is not true. That is not how The Natural Law of Kamma functions.

I recommend you schedule a personal guidance session so that I can talk with you in detail to fully understand what are the challenges you are facing so that I am able to provide guidance.

You can schedule using this link..... [free of cost]
https://www.buddhadailywisdom.com/teachers-buddhist-meditation-in-chi

Posted via blog.d.buzz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now