Rec Running- A Good Run at the Amazing Harpers Ferry #runwithme

20180406_191523.jpg
I am very lucky to live 22 minutes from this amazing national park. As I visited during an off peak time today for my run it was really easy to find parking. I have a yearly pass. Yes, I do think we should pay a SMALL amount to park at national parks. Some find that sacrilegious but it's a small price to pay to fund programs that keep these parks protected, etc, etc.

The first picture above is simply today's "over the bridge" view of the Potomac. I found the water to have a pleasant blue-green hue. I also have two more photos from today's bridge series to include "across the bridge" & "under the bridge" of which that pleasant coloration is noted also to some extent, though the lighting & overcast day sort of changed the hue slightly from diff angles.
Across the bridge
20180406_191116.jpg
Under the Bridge
20180406_191241.jpg

After running over & across the bridge, yes, I did run under it for a bit and then circled back. On the initial path UP to the bridge, I ran up this small, but steep hill three times in succession because, good training, and it was the least recreational part of this run. LOL.
20180406_192207.jpg

Then we proceed along a flat path that would lead you to the historic township of Harper's Ferry. On one side of the road, jagged out croppings of rocks grace your line of sight.
20180406_192433.jpg
On the other side of the same road, you have this graceful creek that can turn 100% green with anaerobic algae during summer months of low rain but doesn't look like that at all right now.
20180406_192011.jpg
Going past the town you across another major bridge over the Potomac & Shenandoah rivers. More stunning outcroppings...
20180406_192549.jpg
Once across, you can run many miles along this canal region. In this section, you can see a more muddy looking water coloration of which is from the recent rain and melting snow but it is interesting to compare this brown to the blue-green from a couple miles upstream.
20180406_192808.jpg

So I called this a "rec run" because I took several pictures pace and intensity was not a priority so it was more of a fun run. I ended up doing 4.10 miles in 46 something minutes which is slow for me, but irrelevant today.
20180406_193223.jpg

Alright thanks for coming along on this #runwithme (new tag?), as I wasn't walking so we can't call it that. LOL. Unfortunately, I can't share any of the caloric burn but the sites, yes I can. 😊
20180404_010520.png
all images taken by me with Samsung galaxy s8. Screenshot my own from running app.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center