Insurance, what insurance?

Hiya guys.

I have an opportunity to work for a great little pizza place not to far from me, i have spoken to the owner and it could be a really money maker.
I did a work trial for them other the weekend doing a little bit of delivering as they needed a driver and i loved every minute of it, it was great fun and the people you meet on your travels are each to their own.

I got offered the job on saturday after making my final run, he wants me to deliver two days a week and work 3 days in the shop.
i am happy with this arrangement but i have to have the right insurance to cover me while delivering.

You might have read about all the uninsured drivers on the road, well takeaway delivery drivers make up for a good % of the uninsured and that is because they have no clue that they need a different type of insurance.

To deliver you need to have C3 insurance which is class 3 insurance just like a taxi driver, this is because you are taking money from a customer and getting paid to be on the road.

I got my insurance last year to deliver pizza, it was with a well known company and they told me that i was aloud to deliver on the insurance, and it turns out now that i wasn't.

They covered me to drive using my car for business with the rights to deliver hot food, yes this is correct but it isn't the right insurance and if something was to happen while driving they wouldn't have paid out.

Hire and reward insurance has to be on your policy to deliver any type of fast food in the UK, this is a must and the price increases with this option.

My standard insurance stands at £609 for a year, Now I have changed it, now my insurance is £1600 a year for having the right to deliver.

You might be thinking wow thats a lot of money, but some of the quotes i was getting were nearly £5500 for standard insurance. so this is not to bad.

There are other things you need to think about too.

a delivery driver doesn't get paid that much money, they earn between £4 and £7 per hour depending on who they are working for.
I know a guy who works for a chinese takeaway and he doesn't get paid unless he delivers 10 takeaways. so some night he just sits in his car and waits I have known him to go nights with out getting paid a penny because he has only delivered 4 takeaways.

If you deliver for Uber eats you can make some good money doing this, this can be anything up to £15 an hour. which is the best I have ever known.
I know another driver who works for them and gets paid £45 for 4 hours work which is great money.

So lets go back to the rate of pay, my rate will be £5 per hour and there is 8 hours a shift which makes £40 a night.
I then get paid fuel costs at £1 per delivery and I do maybe 20 to 40 deliveries a night we will do an average of 30 this makes £30 for a night for fuel.

so that is £70 a night for working, i might only use about £10 in fuel and then the rest is mine so for 8 hours worth of work that makes £60 which works out at £7.50 per hour.

To top it off then I get tips, this is between £10 and £20 a night, which really ups the money I make at the end of the night.

If it wasn't for tips the job would not be worth doing, the tips are paying for things like dance or swimming lessons for my kids, and is a great little thing to make while working.

My favourite day to work deliveries when i first started was mondays as I could easy take £130 in 8 hours for how nice people were to me.

If you are thinking about delivering make sure you have the right insurance as it is 6 points a £300 fine and they take your car from you to, this is another £80 release fee and you have to go back for it the next day.

hope this helps you lovely people.

@artonmysleeve

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now