Welcome to the Sausage-Fest!


Happy Sunday friends!

So before I headed off to the gym this morning, I briefly stopped by Dtube, as it's kind of part of my daily routine now. As I was thumbing through videos, something became glaringly obvious: there were no women in them. Video after video of male-centric videos and topics and not one female.

Here's the deal, I didn't come here to bitch about women's rights. Ultimately the curation team has the right to upvote whatever their heart desires, but I know what the Dtube powers that be truly desire is to be big, bad and respected. Shutting out women is a one-way ticket to, well, not that.

Women make up half the population and creator after creator, male and female alike, have discussed the importance of female presence on the blockchain. I need not beat that horse needlessly, it's been said and it's true.

So what perplexes me then, remains the curious case of the Sausage-Fest. If I were a female who just joined Steemit today, and I saw the dtube main page, I would not be enticed to create content.

I am not a huge fan of SJW terminology, but believe it or not, representation is important. If you don't agree, as a male, just ask yourself how you would feel coming to a website that bills itself as being for everyone, but only mainly promotes female content? Would you feel welcome? Would you feel like you had much of a chance?

This isn't even to mention the other roadblocks women face, like their looks. Men can have any kind of look really, and still get upvoted. It isn't a lot different than broadcast journalism or Hollywood. Men can get away with so much more compared to women: ie be a little overweight, have grey hair, not be a total bombshell.

(Don't believe me still? Can you even imagine a movie where a female Steve Buscemi had a main role? Even stereotypically "ugly" females in movies are pretty easy on the eyes in comparison.)

That being said, it's not hopeless. Let's bring more women to the blockchain by supporting the women who are already here.

I am in the process of starting a curation trail just for lady content. If you are interested in joining said trail, it is called @ladytube.

Anywho, all I want is for Steemit and Dtube to grow, and that can't happen only representing one sex. I implore those who have the power, to recognize more female creators more regularly! Personally, I wish that content was curated in content groups, and that females had their own group, but alas, maybe one day!

Thanks for watching guys, enjoy the rest of your weekend!

xx~Beth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center