And then there was Blender


House_004.png

A couple of years ago I came across Blender. I saw some of the projects created with this tool and they were very impressive. It took me a while to get to create some basic objects in it, so I left it in favor of other 3D modeling software with a larger user base.

I've always being fascinated by architecture and always wanted to work on it using the tools I've learned for it (i.e. Autocad, 3D Studio Max, Modo & Lightwave). All these products are great but the licenses cost and continued upgrades made it difficult to justify the investment for a hobby. So I ended up using mostly Modo and the version I bought a couple of years ago.

So 2020 came along with a lock-down creating a perfect opportunity to learn whatever I wanted with no need to explain why. Somehow a couple of weeks ago while browsing the internet I came across a very interesting tutorial on how to build and showcase a house using Blender. The course was offered by Udemy at a very attractive price so I decided to buy it.

The course is Architectural Design & Animation in Blender 2.8 . Thomas McDonald does a great job explaining the concepts and how to create the project in a series very short videos. That makes it very easy to complete every step of the creation process.

It was really nice learning experience and here are some images of my results. I still have lots to learn but it was certainly a fun challenge.


Screenshot 2020-06-23 at 17.55.00.png


Screenshot 2020-06-23 at 17.54.14.png


House_003.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now