BE CAREFUL: If you have a Bitpay VISA Debit card for Bitcoin to Fiat they have changed deposit system

If you happen to be someone like myself that used Bitpay VISA card to convert BITCOIN to Fiat as needed so you can pay for whatever you need BEWARE. They have changed how to add funds to your card. I am not too happy about this, but I am still working out the details. Once I've gotten some more experience with depositing crypto using this new method I will write a post explaining my findings.

The Address now comes up looking more like this:
bitcoin:?r=https://bitpay.com/i/JWhCYLJ4PwjBWkqaqfJV2R

Be very careful as that is not a legit bitcoin address. Instead that is an internal address for Bitpay. So if you send currency to that address in the old method you likely will need to spend considerable time trying to recover your lost bitcoin.

Instead what they appear to be requiring is using their internal Bitpay Wallet now which is a bitcoin wallet. I have $16 USD worth of bitcoin in mine at the moment and it will not let me transfer that amount to my bitpay card. It indicates that amount is insufficient. This is bothersome. So I have bitcoin siting int hat wallet that I may not be able to actually power up until there is more there.

I will put some more bitcoin in this wallet in the coming days but it will be small amounts to see how to get around these problems. I'll convert some SBD to bitcoin and add it to this wallet and see if I can get this mess worked out.

They turned something that was easy to do into something a bit more tedious.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center