I lost some Bitcoin in 2015

Preeti is my virtual assistant. She has been with me for 2 years and helps with all sorts of things with my business. I'm self-employed and have been for 16 years.

In December she asked if I'd seen all of the stuff about Bitcoin and cryptocurrency. She was excited.

As soon as she said it, I thought.... Bitcoin? I bought some of that and where the hell is it? She's telling me all about it and all I can think about is where is it?

Racked my brain, poured over old emails, got some ideas. Decided to follow my instincts on what I might have done.

In the search, I found I had a Coinbase account but nothing was in it.

I was already there, I decided to get verified. Bitcoin was going crazy. In early December it only took a couple of hours for verification but as more and more people joined, it got longer.

They want ID and to prove your identity. This is pretty transparent.

Bitcoin was supposed to be this dark secret right? You can buy things on the dark webs. You can buy drugs and other illegal things online with it, right? The amount of ID and verification required, no one is hiding anything here.

So many questions. Why now? What's different?

While I’m looking for the old Bitcoin, I decide to jump in and buy some new Bitcoin with my newly verified Coinbase account.

What the hell. I buy a little Ethereum, Bitcoin Cash and Litecoin.

Now what? I KNOW NOTHING!

Not true, I was right on track. I found out exactly what I knew. FOMO. Fear of Missing Out. This is big in the crypto world. Especially if you are a newbie.

It means, I was afraid to miss out on all this excitement and hype and I immediately bought in. I completely disregarded what it is or what it does. FOMO.

Next, I waited for it to fly past the price I bought it at so I'm rich. Sounds so easy!

That's where I started. Searching for old Bitcoin, bought new Bitcoin, some of it's friends and learned about FOMO.

I've got skin in the game. I'd better start learning. I'm not going to be one of THOSE people. I bought high, I didn't know what I was doing. I'm not bailing. I'm HODLING. (Another crypto term it means to hold your coins long term or HOLD ON FOR DEAR LIFE)

I'm not afraid. I will learn and I'm excited about it. I'm not going anywhere.

Find out what happens next, subscribe, follow or whatever it is we do here on steemit I've got lots to talk about. Including the lost Bitcoin.

Melissa :)

PS- If you want to buy Bitcoin in the US and pay for it using real cash money or FIAT (another crypto glossary term) join Coinbase and we each get $10 in free Bitcoin. Go here--> Coinbase!Lost and Found Bitcoin.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center