Bitcoin's Block Time just took 46 minutes between blocks?

(taken from blockchain.info)

In the screenshot above, you can see Bitcoin's latest block time (at the time of this posting) was roughly 46 minutes after the previous block.

How come?

Here's a first for me, have you guys ever noticed this before?

I know there is some variance with block time, but maybe I've never paid close enough attention to see that sometimes it can take 45m+ for a block to be produced? Interesting.

I was wondering why a transaction was taking so long to confirm, I thought maybe I sent with too low of a fee.

But then, after checking, no blocks had been produced in almost 45m. My xfer got confirmed shortly after, but still raised my eyebrow.

Anyone else seen this ? Can anyone tell me why this happens?

Thanks for reading, you crypto-junkies! 🏂

www.BitcoinNinjas.org
-spif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now