Bitcoin Meeting In Tokyo Report 7/6/2017

Last night I attended my first bitcoin meet up in Tokyo. Met a bunch of cool new people from  different professions revolving around crypto. 


The meeting was held at Two Dogs Taproom www.twodogs-tokyo.com in Roppongi . They have a nice selection of craft beers & California cuisine, from chips & salsa to delicious pizzas.

I sat at a table with 3 other Japanese gentlemen who were salary men in the IT industry and wanted to know more about bitcoin. They had just learned about it and had a serious case of FOMO. It was fucking awesome passing on what I know about crypto to them. They were hungry to learn and soaked everything in as the beers and food flowed. Without overloading them too much I told them about the big coins, different uses of those coins, the exchanges, some promising new tech and resources online, including Steemit!


After overloading them with information, they bid me goodnight and left. As they left another Japanese guy can and say down. He introduced himself as Hiroyuki, a block chain engineer talent scout and a fellow Steemian! We had a good conversation about talent in Japan, various coins, AI and his business. 

As we were chatting another Asian gentleman held up his Steemit shirt after seeing mine so we gestured for him to come over. His name was Mark, Mr. Y, from Korea. He happened to be in town vacationing and doing some blogging on Steemit.

Lastly was Terry, also from Korea who joined us. Terrry is an investor. He brought over bitcoin atm's to Korea a few years ago and recently sold them. We chatted about promising tech, good coins to invest in and of course segwit. Overall it was a good conversation with perspectives from different parts of the world. I believe Terry said he is running a Dash node that pays him some nice returns every week. An excellent position to be in and one I'm hoping to be in soon.

As the night wound down and I started to head out I took a picture of the BTC atm in the corner that appeared to be down or just not plugged in. Two Dogs accepts BTC as payment, but at this time I am not spending any of my BTC on food. Just can't do it, it's too precious. If it jumps to over 3k I might shell out for a beer, but that's it.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, the Two Dogs Pale Ale I had was great, not too hoppy and not too light. Easy to drink and it came in 3 sizes for everyone's budget. Here is a shot of the beer menu.


Special shout out to Ed, one of the organizers whom I only had a minute to chat with. Helpful links are below as well as Hiroyuki & Mr. Y's Steemit pages. Give them a follow!

https://steemit.com/@openpeopley

https://steemit.com/@hiroyukikomiya

Bitcoin meet ups every Thursday at various locations in Tokyo. https://www.meetup.com/Tokyo-Bitcoin-Meetup-Group/


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center