Ten years ago, Gemini block

I don't remember exactly what year it was anymore when I first heard the name bitcoin, but what I do remember is that the president of Ecuador was fascinated by the idea.

I think because I had negative feelings towards the left leaning president, I immediately dismissed the whole thing, thinking that it must be part of his "evil plan" so to speak.

Fast forward a few years later, the name keeps on coming up and I'm sitting there wondering if I missed the boat, then priced over 1k at the time and still, without much knowledge of the philosophy of crypto, I stood skeptical of it.

So this morning, when I read that today marks the tenth year of the first block, it really puts things into perspective for me, because it both shows that the tech is not going anywhere, and that we are still so early in the game.

To compare it to something more palpable, its as if it's 1994 and we are discussing if the internet will one day take over all communication. Imagine having the foresight, just imagine.

At any rate, happy bday bitcoin

@meno

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center