New hardware wallet in town

If you haven't heard, the Ledger Nano S is having more troubles in paradise. A 15 year old has figured out way to get the private keys off a Ledger Nano S. This vulnerability was played down by Ledger and they claim it requires an extremely rare scenario of having the device before it was setup. The security researcher ( a 15 year old boy! ) shows this is not the case in a detailed breakdown.

I haven't tested it myself but with my dealings with Ledger so far I am convinced he is telling the truth and Ledger is playing it down.

Trezor isn't without their issues either, it wasn't long when their devices could be used to extract private keys to personal wallets. Something that should never be possible.

Kaspersky Lab, the company behind the most effective Anti-Virus consistently as documented by independent research organizations has announced their own hardware wallet.

The wallet is not available just yet, but it is in the announcement phase.

The Ballet has no screen where as the Securator has an LCD screen. Both devices have an optional yearly subscription to backup your keys in encrypted form off site.

The device also allows you to use a mobile phone with NFC and USB.



While I am a big fan of Eugene Kaspersky's products I might wait a little while before giving it full approval. I'll likely order one myself if they don't send me a few for free. It really can't be any worse than the current situation as it is.

You can check out the product page if you want more information or get on the announcement list. All screenshots are from the product page.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now