The 10 best memes from 10 years of Bitcoin

Ten years ago, Satoshi Nakamoto sent a paper called Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System to the Cryptography mailing list. In those ten years, digital gold became a goldmine for memes.

Here's my official list of the 10 best Bitcoin memes, not ranked but loosely ordered as a story. There was so much choice, I had to narrow it down by excluding memes about altcoins, tokens, coin splits, individuals or companies. Memes are not necessarily image macros; one of these is only text and one is only an image.



I listened to Jesus and I did quit my day job. Yesterday, I sold my car, which I'd bought from crypto profits; does that count? But seriously, if you're convinced that this technology is changing the nature of money, how can it not change your life?



Proof that Bitcoin is better than sex. I also talked to a sex worker about Bitcoin, and I wasn't even paying her. I didn't manage to convert her, though - she still preferred 'real money'. My reaction:



Have you mastered the blockchain?



The Coin Center whiteboard. It's always 0 days since the last incident.

If you ask me, today's incident was about Elysium, I mean Ethereum, kicking out speakers from the front row at DevCon 4, to keep empty chairs available for sponsors.



Sometimes Bitcoin critics have a sense of humor.



Big Business blockchainers, on the other hand, aren't getting the joke.



I swear, I'm really in it for the technology, but price movements offer endless entertainment.



Of course, the most famous Bitcoin meme is I AM HODLING. Do read and reread the original post - it's a masterpiece. And remember it's about avoiding day-trading when you can't predict the future - written on a day when the price fluctuated between $420 and $679. It's not about choosing between saving and spending, which wasn't an issue that divided the community in 2013.



Remember when $600 was a spectacular comeback? That must have been in June 2016. Drink the Kool-Aid, it's not a cult!



In the end, the BTC/USD exchange rate should become irrelevant. Are we still dreaming of this future?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center