Lightning Payments Now On Your Wrist (Literally) With Bluewallet's Apple Watch App

Bluewallet.io, a Lightning Network wallet maker, announced they launched an Apple Watch app which enables users to send and receive payments using this "second layer" technology on top of Bitcoin.


Screen Shot 2019-05-06 at 7.36.21 PM.png


The app generates QR codes, lists wallets and allows the user to send and receive Bitcoin via previously created Lightning channels.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about another development in this niche, a desktop wallet made by Lightning Labs.

The launch of an Apple Watch app is relevant not only as a technical feat, but also as a potential indicator of adoption. Apple has been historically reluctant to host crypto-related apps in their App Store, so the fact that they allowed an Apple Watch app related not only to Bitcoin, but to the Lightning Network, could be seen as a positive signal.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now