How High Can Bitcoin Eventually Go? Suppose 1 Satoshi Would Equal 1 USD Cent...

Today is a non working day where I live and, although I do have work to do for my remote day job, I have this strange feeling that winter holiday is already here. Streets are empty, I have less than a quarter of my coworking colleagues around and you can hardly see anyone on the streets.

So, taking advantage of this sudden bubble in my personal space, I found myself rambling about utopian financial scenarios.

Everybody and their mother is asking themselves these days how high Bitcoin can (still) go. And what the usefulness of such a token would eventually be.

As I was thinking about this, I hit a very practical roadblock: what is the smallest denomination unit for a currency? Well, for USD, it's the cent. And for Bitcoin, it's the 8th digit after the point, or, as we call it, the "satoshi". You can't split a Bitcoin lower than a satoshi.

So what if the two currencies will "get even"? What it would happen if a cent would equal a satoshi? Like in a scenario where Bitcoin would actually replace the USD in the current day to day operations, you know....

Well, first of all, the actual value of one Bitcoin would be $1,000,000.

Stop for a second and try to digest this...

That's basically double than the "dick cutting wage" John McAffee poised to, a few months ago. If you don't know what I mean, then allow me to update: in a public tweet, John McAffee waged that Bitcoin will reach $500,000 by the end of 2020, otherwise, he will eat his dick on public television.

Belive it or now, there is now a website for that. If you click on that link you will see wether or not John (whom I had the honor to meet and chat with this year) will actually sacrifice a fundamental part of his body. If you didn't click that yet, I'm going to show you what you will see there (today):


Screen Shot 2017-11-30 at 3.39.19 PM.png


Ups! John already updated his wage. So it's already poised to be $1,000,000 in less than 3 years.

Good.

Suppose it will be like that.

If the gap between all the other crypto currencies will maintain at the current level, here's what you'll see:

1 ETH would equal (roughly) 0.05 Bitcoin, or $50,000

1 STEEM would equal (roughly) 0.0001 Bitcoin, or $100

I'm just gonna leave this here. And, if the STEEM blockchain will still be around in 3 years, we can look back and assess wether I was right or wrong.

At which point we will also have a clearer status on John McAffee's dick too.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center