It's My Birthday but It Isn't Really Mine

I don't really take much stock in birthdays, to be honest. But I understand the need. Or rather there's way that I see it that explains the need.

See the way I see it is there's gotta be days that are different in a year; days that stand for something. If not, every day is just going to be the same dumb sunrise and set filled with thoughts and strife and acts that we wonder what ultimately their meaning or meanings are.

Which is why I suppose the governments created their days. Children's day, Mother's day and all the useless ones.

At any rate, among them all the most personal is the birthday. Why people think it has any other significance apart from what I mentioned up there is beyond me.

I mean, it's not even objective or anything. It's not even exact or definite. X amount of earth's rotation and revolution around the sun has been completed since the day you were born. Cool. Yay earth. You're good at rotating and revolving.

If anything, mothers -- and to an extent, fathers -- should be the ones celebrated on birthdays. At least they achieved something X revolutions of the earth ago. They actually did something worth commemorating. What'd I do? What'd you do? We got pushed out and was a literal pain in our mom's ass. And then we cried like a bitch afterwards. Good job.

X amount of revolutions gone, which, consequentially, means as a mortal flesh and bone, less amount of revolutions left. Cool.

I don't think birthdays should be the time to contemplate mortality, though. I think Memento Mori should be exercised every single day of life, except the birthday and children's day.

And I do. I do contemplate mortality everyday except today. And if you're thinking, well you're writing about contemplating mortality now, which is your birthday, so technically you are contemplating mortality on your birthday, I'd have you know I wrote this a long time ago.

Anyway, no, now is not the time for Valar Morghulis. Now is the time to stop. It's been a shitty year anyway. (Update: I won a thing andmet people so it's aiit.)

Oh and good job, mom and dad. Not sure if I wouldn't have rathered being left alone, but you know, good job. Oh and you too, earth. Good job. You're really good at rotating and revolving.


Was gonna write more on this today but I'm sick asf + I'll be on the road attending a friend's wedding in another city. Cheers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center