Bicycle photo contest winners

My first #bicyclephotocontest ended last week, and I was thrilled with the number of great entries that I received. From the nearly 30 photos submitted, it was not easy to narrow down to three, but the winners who will each receive 1 share of @steembasicincome are:

@axeman


QmXXnFxcdujLEVYXvNYV5KULnxNU3npem3LoirBThwJsHG.jpg

His shot of a beach cruiser at sunset is just stunning. The color of the sky is gorgeous, and I love the low perspective of the shot. See his entry post here.

@ileana56


DSC_9383.JPG

Her photo was taken from a balcony as children in a race passed by. I really like the contrast of colorful bikes and clothing against the grey asphalt, and the markings on the road (as well as the powerlines) add a graphical interest to the shot. Her entry post can be found here.

@holm

37265734_2196173567283423_8080277812558168064_n.jpg

Mikkel @Holm is currently on a solo cycling trip from Denmark to South Africa, and I think his self-portrait really conveys that sense of adventure that we associate with a trip like that. The background is beautiful, and I like the way he is standing with his loaded touring bike and looking ahead. Every time I see this photo, I want to pack my bags and head out on a trip. See his post here.

Honorable Mentions

Like I said, I had a really difficult time narrowing down to three winners, so I also want to recognize a few honorable mentions. Something about each of these shots stood out to me as well, so these photographers will each receive a .25 SBD prize. In no particular order they are:

@tattoodjay

QmV4Ei6KbavfLLi2EWd3Dw7NwScxiQGoijop9R4V1ff9pB.jpg

I really like the use of selective color, and he has some other nice shots of bikes on the streets of NYC in his post.

@ninahaskin

b0wxinbfkm.jpg

Her stylized shot of bikes parked on a college campus is colorful and interesting.

@twowheeledmonkey

5dc9d237-905b-41da-888d-e9f8e98557f5.jpeg

Logging the miles. Great title and nice shot where the bike is an important element, but the background is the star.

@luigi-the-gnome

0rre4tk1al.jpg

Interesting bike, and the canal makes a nice background. The wine case basket is a nice detail, but it would be even better if it were still full of wine.

@ultrabiker

Screen Shot 2018-07-14 at 18.37.09.png

Another nicely composed shot that makes me want to get out and ride. You can’t beat a riverside trail with such beautiful scenery.

I could have added several more honorable mentions, but I had to draw the line somewhere. Overall, the quality of the entries was very good, and I really appreciate everyone who entered and helped spread the word about the contest. I am not sure exactly when, but this is something that I will definitely do again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center