My first ICO: Trade, Boontech or Bezop?

After needing over a week to get my first Bitcoin, it was time to jump in and try my first ICO.

Unfortunately, I had already missed what I thought was to be my first ICO: Trade.io (TIO). It seemed like a strong package with a good team, detailed white paper, excellent response from support, good updates and follow-up in emails, etc. But I had missed it.

I had also been watching Boontech, which was the first ICO I had looked at after having seen a writeup here on Steem. I had even live-chatted on their website. Immediate response. Nice! Since then, however, and having been forced to take time waiting for my BTC during which I could get a better handle on how to assess ICOs, I had cooled on Boontech. I could not find ANY reviews or writeups about it on any of the leading sites with ICO calendars and reviews. So I let it go. Could it be that it is in a different market? Are there ICOs that are more focused in certain regions (India) that don't necessarily get good coverage on global sites? I decided to watch Boontech when their coin hits the exchanges. Maybe I'll buy some then.

Instead, I did what I will never do again: I fell victim to a plug by what I now know was an MVP, John McAffee, for Bezop... a supposed "Amazon killer"!

bezop.jpg

I had been searching for the best YouTubers to follow, respected individuals to heed, and gurus whose advice I could trust when I saw the post by John McAffee plugging Bezop. I acted quickly, but by the time I was ready to hit the send button had started to feel uncertain. I barrelled through that hesitation...

... and regretted it almost immediately. I did more research and found negative feedback regarding McAffee's plug as well as the fact that Bezop's website was not as professional as I had thought. Their terms and conditions page had been unedited from the filler text found in templates. My stomach dropped. Having just had his Twitter account hacked and fake plugs issued, I wondered if Bezop had been one of them.

Is Bezop a scam?

It would be nice if some kind reader could assuage my concern.

Regardless, I immediately went to MyEtherWallet and did the process to display coins and, sure enough, there they were. Maybe I'll be alright. Maybe it'll be fine. I hope so. That would be nice.

Unfortunately, I just got an email today that they were pushing back their release on exchanges for 30-60 days because of the current flash crash. Is this delay suspect? Again, I hope not. But I have already in my heart decided that these couple hundred dollars are gone and I will chalk it up to my newbie thirst for a quick "opportunity" and my first real hit of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out).

I'll be more deliberate in the future.

Addendum #1: I have since bought some TIO. More FOMO?

Addendum #2: I communicated with Bezop about that incomplete T&C page and they directed me to their real T&C in their white paper. They didn't seem fazed.

(please upvote if you made it to the end)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center