Behind The Photo: šŸŽ Horses In pasture

My entry to the #behindthephoto contest by @nelyp. Check Here for more info.

Most of my photography is spontaneous of animals and nature I happen to come across either in my own backyard or along the highway.

I love taking photos of animals and often when Hubby and I are driving the backroads to Charlottetown I will see a pasture of farm animals and we stop the vehicle so I can snap a photo with my reliable camera, Canon EOS Rebel T6.

The horses are on a hill with only a few strands of a barb wire fence separating them from me. With colts in the pasture they watched me closely to make sure I wasnā€™t a danger. I took a fast shot and jumped back in the car.

After loading the photos on the computer, I noticed the top of the barb wire fence was showing and the photo is quite dark. I wasnā€™t happy with the photo and tried to improve it with a few squeaks.

I like the animalā€™s eyes to show clearly but it isnā€™t going to happen in this photo so Iā€™ll do what I can to enhance it.

I use the edit on google photos to help lighten up the photo.


F0F2EDB1-1F5B-491A-ACC7-C101A57CBF7D.png


Using the cropping edit I straighten the photo and crop out the line of the barb wire fence showing faintly on the bottom of the above photo.


698A1A3A-27E9-4423-A361-592D2BF3F390.png


Newbie photographers often forget to straighten the picture. Itā€™s one of my pet peeves to see a crooked horizon or tree line. I want to leave a comment on the page to straighten up the photo but donā€™t like to sound like a know-it-all.

The specifications of the photo:


269DA067-60D3-4C8F-A2B4-D9CCF55A8458.jpeg

There are many editing programs. I try to keep it simple and have used Lunapic to add an edit such as the following reflecting water .


99E58903-8809-4445-99F0-FB8A58F5F18A.gif


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Photos & Text by @redheadpei


There a lot to learn about taking photos and I am looking forward to picking up some tips in the #BehindThePhoto entries.




#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


0371B728-7575-4791-BF4E-4B81581CD3A3.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center