The Importance of Bee-ing Observant Beside an Old River

IMG_2725.JPG

I noticed a honey bee inside a white flower today. I was fishing along the banks of the Harpeth River in Middle Tennessee. The river was up. The fishing conditions were less than choice. I decided to browse the birds and the bees and the flowers and the trees. Good call Dave.

IMG_2705.JPG

This flower's petals reminded me of Japanese Hand Fans (bian mian?). I resisted the urge to scratch a haiku in the muddy banks of the Harpeth.

IMG_2730.JPG

Butterflies hold family meetings on sacred dung mounds. This is not uncommon in the animal kingdom. Thing about the scarab beetles on the Giza plateau. They were anointed as gods by the ancient Egyptians, and they too spend large portions of their lives in the physical presence of another animals fecal matter. (roll clip from Ace Ventura II where Ace breaks down the ins and outs of bat droppings).

IMG_2708.JPG

These flowers were discussing the merits of Witgenstein's Tractatus Logico Philosophicus when I happened upon them. Other than that they were pretty cool flowers.

I caught zero fish today. Score.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now