Late Summer Beer Discoveries - #beersaturday Zeke's Sweet Hops

It took me another week to adventure through my haul of new beers but what a tasty adventure.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

It seems my #beersaturday s are indeed highlighted by #beer but also with renovation and cleanup activities. Hence, I am having to post on Sunday but the virtual pub run by @detlev is open every day ending in Y so it doesn't matter much.

Let's scope and sample another round o' new beer discoveries as breweries from Quebec, London (Ontario) and Toronto fuel my front room makeover.


image.png

8 years in the making...


IMG_9671.jpg

Before we get started, here is the latest project. I am making SERIOUS Wife Points© as I have totally cleared out our sitting/dining rooms, had the carpet cleaned, primed and painted the whole thing in a couple days. I generally take time in getting these things completed but this project has been waiting to happen since we moved in years ago. I must be inspired by @davedickeyyall and his renovation adventure as I am nailing this whole thing in 3 days flat.

Here are a few of the beers fueling me.


image.png

From Quebec, With Love


IMG_9645.jpg

I may as well start with a strong one branded with a little historical significance. Le Bilboquet https://lebilboquet.qc.ca/about-us/is among the first microbreweries in the province of Quebec and this Billy Bishop Double IPA https://lebilboquet.qc.ca/our-beers/ is named after a famous Canadian World War 1 fighter pilot. I am not sure what the connection is but I have a soft spot in my palette for Quebec beers going back over 20 years to ski trips.


IMG_9646.jpg

Not much on the detailed part of the label would entice me to purchase this beer other than never having heard of Teku beer glasses https://www.bonappetit.com/story/best-beer-glasses-teku or Vic Secret hops http://www.hopslist.com/hops/dual-purpose-hops/vic-secret/

The malt characteristics of this beer seem to transport me back to the 90s when I would head to Quebec for a ski trip and adventure through a whole new world of provincial beers that were such a departure from the ales and lagers I enjoyed normally. This is a legit Double IPA with that serious taste, mix of old and new hops, and not too heavy an alcohol aftertaste you often get with an 8% ABV brew.

Merci Belle Province!


image.png

Closer to Home


IMG_9653.jpg

Would you look at this bright bubbly beverage! Front Porch Organic Session IPA https://www.londonbrewing.ca/product/front-porch-organic-ipa/ is brewed right down the road at London Brewing https://www.londonbrewing.ca/ I can recall buying an Organic Light Lager for my better half to try and perhaps tasting one of their standard IPAs but it must have fallen under "I don't hate this!" as I can't remember my impressions.


IMG_9655.jpg

I enjoyed this one during a gaming session where it takes a tasty exception to interrupt the button smashing and remember only a subtle smooth and enjoyable lighter beer. Perhaps I am not the target market for this beer as the label, while the space is used well, attempts to draw my sentiment with a combo-punch of nice reasons to pick this among others off the shelf. They are good reasons, and I don't hate this beer, but I can think of 10 other lighter, yet hoppy beers I might choose over this.

I definitely don't hate this and applaud London Brewing for their work on the 100 KM diet, sharing the profits with employees, and choosing to play a positive role in their community.


image.png

Hell Ya Rainhard!


IMG_9673.jpg

The title is what went through my mind as I discovered KAPOW! IPA https://www.rainhardbrewing.com//beers from Rainhard Brewing Company https://www.rainhardbrewing.com/ There are so many great craft breweries in my former home town of Toronto that it would be easy to overlook Rainhard but I have always enjoyed their IPAs along with the distinct and well done branding.


IMG_9674.jpg

Knowing this brewery and the memories of their last IPA, it didn't matter much that I was assaulted by a substantial wall of text on the side of the label. Let me sum it up for you in 11 words. 'Blah Blah trendy key words you are gonna love this IPA.'

The two words that spoke to me the loudest were Citra and Mosaic which, when combined well, make for the common denominator in many of my preferred IPAs. Sweet and serious and scrumptious is my triple alliteration for a fantastic beer.

Rainhard, you have done it again and I am VERY pleased to find your beers on the shelves an hour and a half from your brewery I will visit and review as soon as I am able.

beerologistapproved.png

Mission Accomplished!

This concludes your weekly guides tasting with the world-famous Blockchain Beerologist. Please dispose of your empties in the recycling bin and hold onto something solid as you exit the ride. Next week, I plan on being true to my word and revisiting some of my "I Would Buy This Again" brews.

Thanks again for joining me!

blockchainbeerologist1.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

I was gifted this wonderful #hive #beer by @spirall on Twitter! Join the Hive push with us.

I have had hundreds of beers with my #BEERSATURDAY crew. It is week 168 already and our livers are holding strong! @detlev/beersaturday-week-168 is your link to the longest-running beer-drinking club on any blockchain. Take some pictures, tell some pub tales, and become a Beerologist by posting your own suddsy story with @detlev and yours truly.

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



A Pandemic cannot slow down the Blockchain Beerologist.

Had any new brews lately?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center