Beer, beer, beer, beer, and more beer. ~ #beer

Did I mention this post was going to be about beer?


source

My one and only male server, Chris, mentioned to me that his fiancee was heading down South to good ole Decorah, Iowa, and that she was swinging by Toppling Goliath and wanted to know if I wanted anything?

ummmm, obviously, yes. yes. Here's 60 dollars. Take my money.

If you've never had anything from Toppling Goliath, you don't know what you're missing. Probably my favorite brewery overall, even though some other beers would be at my top.

60 bucks was a lot of money for the amount of beer I was getting. But it's damn good beer, and sometimes I'm willing to shell out a little bit for a premium product.

So what did I end up getting???

A 32 Oz growler of Dragon Fandango

image.png
source

Join the dragon in a dance to celebrate this unique kettle sour, blended with dragon fruit, mango and passion fruit puree. Named Dragon due to the use of Dragon Fruit, and Fandango after the dance of South America where Dragon Fruit originates from. Dragon Fandango is both fruity and tart with a dry finish. Raise a glass, dance the Fandango and celebrate the magic of these tropical fruits.
Kettle Sour:
4% ABV • 15 IBU
Featured ingredients:
Citra hop, dragon fruit, passion fruit and mango
source

Seeing as 3 out of the 4 beers I got were growlers, I have only opened 2 cans of the other beer I got, which was Pompeii. I've had it before and it's one of my favorite IPA's ever.

image.png
source

Named after Pompeii which was famous for not only the volcano that destroyed it, but the amazing mosaics on the walls of the ruins. This IPA is created with the same attention to detail as the beautiful mosaics that graced the city of Pompeii. It features mango and pineapple hop flavors with a medium-body feel to tantalize the senses.
India Pale Ale:
5.8% ABV • 50 IBU
Featured Hops:
Mosaic
source

32 Oz Fire Skulls & Money

image.png
source

Inspired by a trip to the West Coast, this brew was designed to capture the wild spirit of adventure and brewed to be enjoyed with friends. It’s a rich IPA for those with wanderlust in their heart and fire in their eyes. Join our Citra, Mosaic, Galaxy, and Nelson Hops on a journey to the bottom of your glass.
India Pale Ale:
7.2% ABV • 50 IBU
featured Hops:
Citra, Mosaic, Galaxy, and Nelson
source

I'm realllllyyyyy excited to try this one. But whenever I buy growlers, I try and make sure to drink it all in that sitting. Not becasue I'm looking to get bombed or anything. I just feel like the beer loses so much of its flavor and essence a day later, or 2. So I try and wait for the right opportunities to drink the growlers, where as with the cans I can open a single one whenever I want.

My last beer from Toppling Goliath was

ZEELANDER

image.png
source

Known for breathtaking views, New Zealand is also home to Nelson Sauvin hops which create a delightfully earthy, floral & crisp grapfruit flavor with aromas of citrus & mandarin oranges. Zeelander is a celebreation of the land that grows such dynamic hops.
India pale ale:
6.2% ABV • 30 IBU
Featured Hops:
Nelson Sauvin
source

Another IPA. What can I say, I'm one of those IPA beer snobs. But hey!, I started this post with a sour, so don't @ me. I've loved almost every grapefruit-y flavored IPA I've ever tried, so I am looking forward to this one for sure.

By now you're thinking I should have just titled this post TOPPLING GOLIATH BEER REVIEW! BUT NO!

I GIVE YOU....

ANTARCTICA!!!

IMG_9943.jpg

Absolutely nothing to write home about. But seeing as this specific can of Antarctica that I am holding had been sitting in a beer cooler in Sao Paolo, Brazil just 48 hours ago, I'd say that's kinda cool.

My best bud Piter was down there visiting his family, I told him he had to bring me one back. I first visited Brazil when I was 16 and this was one of the first beers I remember having in my young life. Takes me back to a special place and time, nostalgia to the max.

Not the greatest beer in the world, but more nostalgia than anything. And he brought me two!, lol.

Thanks for reading.

Have you had any of these beers before?! Hmu in the comments!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now