Quem Pastores Laudavere

On Saturday I attended an SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) Yule event, and performed this pretty 15th century Christmas hymn for bardic. Alas, no videos were taken of my performance there, however, I made a quick video of it this morning in my frosty orchard. For the curious, I have English translations for verses 1, 2, and 4. Can’t seem to find verse 3 anywhere!

Shepherds came, their praises bringing,
who had heard the angels singing:
'Far from you be fear unruly,
Christ is King of glory born.'

Wise men whom a star had guided
incense, gold, and myrrh provided,
made their sacrifices truly
to the king of glory born.

Jesus born the King of heaven,
Christ to us through Mary given,
to your praise and honour duly
be resounding glory done.

(Mirrored on Weku)

2D9D30B7-C41E-4F25-B690-8EEDF31FAE1E.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center