Today’s Soundtrack: 2022-02-03

I don’t listen to music every day, but some days I do, and today was one of those days - le apetu wastelo.

img_3024.jpg

Today’s soundtrack was Blind Guardian, Beyond the Red Mirror. (Album Link)
When these guys first started popping up in my feed a few years ago, I didn’t take them seriously at all. But somewhere along the line, something compelled me to do a search and read about these guys.

What I read was that these guys are considered by many to be the fathers of modern metal. That meant they were older than I thought, which started to change the lens through which I was witnessing their craft, and the walls became to fall down like dominos. Next thing I knew, I all out loved this band - and years later I can still spend a whole day listening to their albums on repeat. Today I stayed on Red Mirror all day at work, it was great.

While I recommend taking in the album as a whole, in order, I will highlight here a few songs on this album that contribute to the body of works that ultimately made me love all of their work on merit alone.

img_3022.jpg
Miracle Machine. Man, what to say? This song is just loaded with depth of sound and meaning. Oh, did I mention these dudes are Deutchländers? That’s right, native German speaker, Hansi Kürsch takes on lead vocals AND bass, all while killin’ it in a second language. Anyway, again, the WHOLE ALBUM, but next up:

img_3019.jpg
Distant Memories. Cool lyrics, awesome guitar work, deep production quality.

img_3020.jpg
Sacred Mind. Charged. The opening lyrics convey a sense of critical mass on the edge. Just as Hansi says “it’s bursting out,” you feel a change in the tone. Over the next few measures, they really do take it to a new place. The transition feels a little odd for a moment, but then they kick it in and it’s like you just landed on the other side and fell right into it. I don’t know, it’s just great.

Well, there you have it!

For an indexed view of (most) of my works, don’t forget to check out the Albus Index! Quickly search through my content or browse for what available by topic!

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

img_2455.jpg

Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency