The Awesome Smile Project : How It turned out to be I was the One Smiling

All photos, videos, GIFs for this posts are from @carlitojoshua, @iamqueenlevita, and @junebride. Thank you guys.

This post happens to be a personal experience of the Awesome Smile Project and how I was the one smiling more than the kids.

Two days had passed yet the memories were still fresh. Last Sunday, we had the first event happened in June named The Awesome Smile Project. This wonderful humanitarian effort was spearheaded by @indayclara, a Civil Engineer who wanted to put SMILE on the kids faces by giving out bundles of joy to less fortunate kids.

The project actually started when @indayclara wanted to partner @steemph.cebu to support this endeavor. With the advent of @steemph.cebu being the communal account for Cebu City, as a core leader we welcomed this idea. So @indayclara started to post this project to gather the targeted amount of funds to be used for the event in this post. Thankfully, the community poured so much effort into supporting this humanitarian effort. SBD, Steem, and post payout contributions were made to raise the necessary funds. I'm really proud of the community we have.

We're also thankful to @sircork - @youarehope's founder. We received a whopping 150 SBD donation from @youarehope to support this effort to put smile on kids faces. As one of the tenured Agents of Hope, with @misterakpan and @malos10 completing the line-up. The foundation never hesitated to support this project, this boosted the chance of raising the targeted funds. Also to @pennsif for his A Dollar a Day project, thank you for supporting.

The Event Happenings.


Photocredit : @iamqueenlevita

I came late with @jbeguna04 because of some reasons. First, I slept very late. Second, it was raining that time so I can't use my motorbike to travel. Third, it was very traffic and our home is very far from the location. When we went *(at around 9:30 a.m.), the kids were starting to color their coloring sheets. They were given crayons and other art materials for them to start designing it. The art committe (@christianyocte, @smaeunabs, etc.) were all in focus to guide the kids in their works.

I went there and tried to suggest some colors to a little girl. Imagine, I suggested color red for a bubble (Hahaha!). A Steemian saw it, @smaeunabs saw that suggestion. We're all laughing because of that creepy suggestion. The worst thing is, that little girl followed it!

Along the way of capturing photos from the works of the kids, something happened.

I Found my Mini-Me


*That kid received my Steemit shirt,

He was coloring the coloring sheet that was given to him. I suddenly found the inner peace and the feeling of at home to that kid. We helped each other out coloring it. We had a lot of talks about what color should we put on the fish, sea, etc. That kid made me flash back my childhood.

I felt me in him. When I was a kid, I was full of enthusiasm of facing the world. Living with an unfortunate family (with a broken family), it was not a reason for me not to enjoy life and learn things. I played like every child did. We barely had money. I even tried to take care of an aged man who has business at the age of 12. I am the one going to grocery, buying for our dinner, wash the dishes, cook for rice, and cleaning the store. You think it's tough at the age of 12, but I enjoyed every single moment of it. I was in-charge of almost everything, (mangupit pa gani ko usahay XD). The feeling of learning new things and being optimistic of every happenings in life. That's what I see with that kid. There's that magical connection that made me bound to commit being with him on that event.

Then the Basketball Game Happened


Video courtesy of @junebride

First, I expected the basketball game will be a full-court. Only to realize that it has a single tiny ring attached to a wall. I even contacted some basketball Steemians to join us to play an exhibition game, only to find out the game was intended for the kids.

So yes, we started the basketball game. Me and @josephace135 are leading the teams composed of the kids. Of course, I'm with my mini-me. So we played the game at a tight space but despite of it, the kids enjoyed the game a lot. I was shocked that mini-me of mine had a great shooting. Into which I relate it to myself during our Basketball meetups (tagging @jbeguna04, @loydjayme25, @axiltr7, @sorenkierkegaard, @jasoncaspe25 to testify lol). We won the game.

The Games Happened

So there were games initiated by @thian2817 for the kids. The winners of the game (partnered with Steemian volunteer) gets prizes. The first game was Paper Dance, a pair of a volunteer Steemian and one kid to participate the game. Guess what, of course I picked my mini-me!

So we participated. With the desire of helping this kid, I did my best to win the game. The focus on balancing even though I am becoming big is absolutely crazy. You can even see it on the pictures. Fortunately, we're one of the winners of the game. My mini-me received a prizes, it's a fire-truck toy.

Then we participated another event (because the 2nd game was for girls only). This time, a Steemian volunteer plus 4 children needs to team up. So I immediately gathered 4 children, with my mini-me of course :P. I was a bit competitive that time because I want to win for the prize. That was the time I had the urge to win. We practiced and developed some strategies to win. Thank God, we won again!

The prize was watch. We picked the color blue and he was really happy to receive it. He didn't knew I was happier. I literally spent most of my time talking with him. He was really an energetic and witty kid. Full of energy. I saw myself on him.

I Was the Happiest

With the activiites happened, I think I was the happiest person during the event. All the things that happened made me enjoy. I felt like a kid, my childhood memories flashed back. Seeing happy faces of the kids and their parents to receive some presents is totally overwhelming. The feeling of giving back again to the community. Back when we're doing the World Food Day and Gift Giving day project with @steemph.cebu.

Thank you everyone who contributed and participated on this amazing project.

Thanks guys! Looking forward for Awesome Smile Project #2 by @indayclara.

  • Jass
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now