Automatic Drawing: Fairy

2017-05-fairy.png

With automatic drawing, I start by letting scribbles appear on the paper as I let my hand make marks on the page without having a preconceived idea of what I will draw. I then watch for pareidolia to appear in the scribble. As my attention is drawn to these forms, my hand naturally starts to emphasise them. As a result, things like anatomy and proportion can be a little out in these drawings. As in the case of this fairy.

This is a good quality scan of a drawing I did on a long train journey last week. Whereas the troll represents the element of earth, the fairy represents air. At least in the case of these drawings. I'm not intending to make a generalisation about all fae...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center