First day of school!!! 2018 here we come!

Today has gone so fast, the whole day seems to be a little bit of a blur. Dropping the kids of at their first day of school and the year for me has officially begun. Master 10 and Master 7 were relatively easy, with a couple of surprises. However for others it was a little bit of an uphill battle.

3B380DEC-01B4-4018-A807-55A1B481A24B.jpeg

Master 5 had a bit of a rough morning. After asking repeatedly if it was time to go from around 5 am, every time I answered not yet sent him into a meltdown. The morning seemed to drag on for him and he didn’t understand that if we went to school at 6.30am no one was going to be there.

Once we were finally organised, and it was the right time, we headed of to school. Lucky for me Miss 12 has a student free day for her grade so I had an extra pair of hands to give me some much needed assistance.

B23D108B-ABB5-4543-AD48-AAA620C6FC91.jpeg

We piled out of the car and headed to Master 10’s class first, I figured I would drop them off oldest to youngest. In we went and set him up. We then discovered that his teacher had been changed. While I could see the anxiety creep into his expression, I reminded him to keep calm.

8D625CF1-8C28-46B0-A9FF-8717233E0915.jpeg

I went over and introduced myself and was very happy to discover that she was well aware of Master 10’s ASD and that hey had a plan in place and we would be having a meeting later on in the week to discuss the year ahead. So ten minutes later and we were on our way to Master 7’s class.

Here again we were met with another little surprise. Master 7’s teacher had also been replaced. Lucky it was with a teacher he had met once before and being his usual self he just ignored him and went about his business. So I introduced myself again and asked if he was aware of Master 7’s file and he said No. He then asked for a rundown, so I filled him in and organised a meeting for later in there week to give him a more detailed overview of Master 7 and his ASD.

F8295E31-751D-4F32-8B3E-14429941DCFA.jpeg

That’s when I realised Mr 5 was full meltdown mode. All the kids and not being where he thought he should be was all a bit much for him. So I scooped him up and headed for his class in he hope that at least one teacher was going to be there as expected. Luckily she was, he was greeted by a familiar face and then his best little buddy from kindy was also there.

His mood quickly improved and he joined in the morning activity. I went and talked with his teachers and his special needs teacher and we decided he could manage for the whole day and not have an early pick up. Although when I collected him he was fine, we have since had several meltdowns or maybe it should be called one long meltdown. I think it is going to take a few weeks to get back into the school routine.

250E65CA-2FF5-4DF5-97F9-0F58E5CB6A2D.jpeg

Despite the chaotic morning and the surprise teacher changes, they all have survived the first school day of 2018! Next challenge will be sorting out therapy sessions and psychiatrist appointments for the new year.

How did everyone else’s morning go?

Thanks for reading.

@mumofmany

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now