# Introduceyourself – René van Raders, Tropical North Queensland, Australia

Hi all.
IMG_6030.jpg
I live on the Atherton Tablelands with my family, near Cairns, in Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia.
I look forward to sharing the magic of this amazing part of the world with you.

I have an interest in rare fruit and vegetables, that extends to bushfoods and a general interest in rainforest botany.

IMG_8735.jpg
My wonderful wife, Lorraine, with a homegrown jakfruit.

IMG_0934.jpg
A great fig tree on the Lake Eacham walking track.

As well as being a plant nerd, I am a history buff – especially interested in the pioneer period of North Queensland, and indigenous history and culture.

I am a part-time firefighter, and I volunteer for the State Emergency Services and the Malanda Falls Visitor Centre.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center