Find comfort: without god is easier (Ex-Christian perspective)

The idea of a god can sound very pleasant, especially when you have depression and really can’t handle everything that comes with life on your own, but finding comfort without a god is not only possible, it is easier than with a god.
Once, when I was younger, I was really concerned about my grades, so my father took me for ice-cream and said to me he was going to give me the key to not being worried, so he leaned to me and said: “If it has a solution, why worry? And if it doesn’t, why worry?” and even though it was really simple it gave me a great relief, even today I think all the time about that phrase. But then he followed that phrase with “everything can be solved, but to stop dying”. And that is why I think that without a god is easier to find comfort in life.
I agree with both of the phrases that my father said to me, I also trust science to one day make us immortal :p , but that’s a separate point, for the time being, I agree with both, but, think about this, if you believe in god the second phrase becomes a stressful issue, and it would contradict itself.
If you believe in god, dying becomes one of the things that CAN be fixed, by doing what god says. But with atheism dying becomes one of the things you just have to accept, and you just take what you have, Why worry?
Some people may also say, “well, if you can change going to hell, why worry?” well, what if you can’t, what if you don’t understand god’s plan, what if you got the wrong religion, what if god’s great plan involves you going to hell to suffer FOREVER. With god taking place in the context the first phrase also becomes complicated, and to be fair, god makes everything way more complicated when it comes to find relief, especially because you have to worry about and eternal afterlife to come.
I think most Christians don’t worry because they think they will all go to heaven, but I ask them: what makes you so special?
I’m an atheist because I lack belief in god, but one of the side issues of becoming an atheist is that you stop worrying so much about dying. Of course, I worry about dying young and not being able to become someone in life, but I stopped worrying about ETERNAL punishment. My will of living has multiplied because I want to be someone in the life, the only life we have, and I stopped worrying about doing bad in the eyes of a murderer. To put it simple: I get to build houses for the homeless (because god won’t do it) without feeling bad for having premarital sex the night before.
Finding comfort in someone or something is called an obsession and automatically named unhealthy (happened to me), except when that something is god. For god, you need to kill someone first before it’s called a mental illness. I think it should be treated like any other thing.
11 (2).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center