AskSteemit #9: What is going on with SBD's?


Hey everyone!

A few weeks ago I took a whale's offer to rent some delegation from him, this was mostly done to help out the @ocd project and nominations as I had recently lost some delegation. At first it seemed like an expensive experiment, but I decided to power through and do an extra post a day instead to be able to break even. Now SBD's are going literally insane though, like, no one can even explain what is happening...

I've been waiting for Korean exchanges to list Steem for some time now, after seeing what they did with Ethereum way back when it was still hovering above $10, but never could I imagine that this would be the effect to Steem and especially Steem Dollars by being added to one of their newest exchanges. I can't even fathom what is going to happen to our currency once they get added on the bigger ones, if they do.

With all this craziness going around, even coinmarketcap has currently decided not to count the price and volume of SBD on bittrex in the total, as you can see here:

It's a bit understandable as they want to protect the people who use coinmarketcap for their trades. I mean who would buy SBD at these prices anyway? So I can't really blame them for doing that. Coinmarketcap is after all under rank 300 in worldwide traffic which is pretty insane on its own.

After Steem and SBD was paired with the South Korean Won, prices have just started going crazy. Here is a chart with daily candles ever since SBD-KRW was listed on Upbit.com

As you can see, last night it topped off at a bit over 25,000 KRW which is over $22.

But what does this all mean? Why is this happening, and why Steem Dollars?

I thought this would be a good time to discuss possibilities with the community and maybe even some conspiracy theories.

With that having been said, I wouldn't judge Steemians to go crazy on their daily posting activity now and I expect us to hit new activity records very soon. Exciting times.

What is going on Steemians? Will Steem soon follow to all new heights?

Leave a comment down below, in these #AskSteemit posts I reward good discussions more than usual.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center