AskSteemit #3: How did you stumble upon Steemit and what was your initial thought?

Hey everyone! Back with another #asksteemit!

I remember the day I stumbled upon Steemit pretty well. I was reading Reddit like I did a lot back then, I was really into reading about cryptocurrency news at the time and frequently browsing the subreddits of them. Before that I was mostly into reading r/bitcoin and r/dogecoin but after the big amount of censorship you noticed on the bitcoin subreddits I started leaning more towards altcoins like Ethereum at the time.

The r/cryptocurreny subreddit also become one of my favorite ones at the time, although low on activty and userbase it was still nice to read daily. There one day I happened upon a comment of a user talking about Steemit (I wish I remembered the users name). I quickly checked it out, created an account which was instant at the time and started doing a few comments and votes. Even wrote my first post asking why Steemit doesn't show ads and reward the revenue to the users:

@pharesim and @pfunk where the first ones to reply to a post of mine, glad to see they are still around on the platform and very important users for it. :)

Anyway, what got me hooked was of course the way it all worked. After reading around more and also checking out the whitepaper I was really impressed by how advanced it already seemed at the beginning phases.

The weird part was that I had created my account at a friends place where we were busy doing some trading for a weekend and I was using her PC, as I got home I totally forgot my password which at the time was not a private key but a password you chose by yourself. I couldn't come up with it to save my own life. Irritated I forgot about Steemit for a couple of weeks until I visited my friend again and tried logging in on her PC which had a different kind of keyboard and BAM, muscle memory came to the rescue.

After that day I have been active ever since pretty much daily. :)


How did you stumble upon Steemit and what were your first thoughts on it?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center