AskSteem: If one were to help grow your account, what would you do for Steem in return?

After reading some negative comments on users who have not done much or given much back to the platform except for spinning crypto news articles and votetrading while upvoting themselves half the time, then complaining that Steem is not worth as much as it used to be. I really wonder how they go by in life, is this some sort of millennial thing where they're always the center of attention and can't get enough of the first time they landed on some money?

I don't know about you but I do find it pretty disgusting, there are so many accounts that Steem has made a big impact in their lives. They've also been lucky to be here early and figure out the ways to get to a lot of stake but giving back is something that seems ridiculous to them - on a platform that literally incentivizes you for rewarding others. Am I the only one that finds this behavior shocking?

Someone once told me that get your own finance in order before you start being altruistic with strangers on a blockchain. I sort of get that but at the same time I wish things didn't have to be that way. Not many of Steem this way but imagine the difference 1 vote could do to a user over a long time and a drastic change in price if it ever were to happen. This one vote, at the time worth $10, through inflation, curation and price changes could end up being a lot more in the future. I find it weird that some users take this for granted, wonder what they think when they've managed to turn their rewards into fiat or another coin and they look back at Steem. Do they think "I got my part for the efforts I put into the platform, I'm happy with it and can sleep at night" or do think "ha, I showed those suckers". Often times I think many of them think more of the latter considering they keep disappearing during bear markets, even though we've only had a few in Steem's charts.

Now there is no point to regret, I don't regret all the users I trusted that they deserve the rewards and will put them to good use in the future of the platform that made it all possible. Even if I could hardfork and take it all back somehow it doesn't matter anymore, Steem is much bigger than that, those that decided to desert it because of their lack of trust in this technology or depending on the ways they managed to cheat and lie their ways into a lot of stake that they then sold off at the first or second pump. They're not much better off, prices right now don't matter much, they're pennies compared to what is waiting beyond the horizon to infiltrate this space. They're reputation and experience from others will take a toll though, and unlike those that remained here they will find it hard to grow back the stake they decided to dump.

Just to be clear I'm not pointing out people that sold and left, more those that were really focused at quick profit through shady ways and then leave.

Anyway, with everything bad there's always something good in there as well. I keep finding new authors and users that I see using and enjoying the platform even though they have no stake nor are getting incentivized to do so. This will be the people that will be creating a ton of value for our blockchain because they're connecting with others and building platforms on top of our blockchain because they enjoy doing it, not because of the rewards that they may get.

I'm looking forward to find more people like that over the years and see to it that they get the attention and rewards they deserve from my own perspective, and I hope there will be many others doing something similar for the new users and accounts that deserve that chance after so many old ones have crapped all over theirs. Prices remaining low is good right now because it gives users that want to see this blockchain do what it is set out to do no matter what their ROI is or just focusing on using their influence on themselves, there are already examples of these, it seems the majority are new investors too so that's a good thing to see.

To get back to my question, almost forgot this was an AskSteem, will have to compensate with much shorter versions in the future.

AskSteem: if I were to help grow your influence on Steem through voting or delegation, what would you focus on doing with it in the future?

*hypothetical question... maybe.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center