Why I painted murals.

Fire-Muralweb.jpg
Mural for the Troy Fire Department, Joliet, Illinois

In the mid 1970's, many American artists were tired of being isolated in their studios and wanted to recreate a role for artists which would allow them to participate in the lives of their local communities. My close friend, Kathleen Farrell, knew the the Public Art Workshop of Chicago, an association of urban artists who painted murals in cooperation with the local inhabitants. When I received my first commission for a mural painting, I really needed help, and we contacted them for mentoring. This was the beginning of a lifelong career in public art.

With each succeeding commission, my job was to synthesize the preoccupations of a particular group (ethnic, professional, etc.) into a work of art which would then be placed in a specific public site. This meant that I spent a lot of time observing and listening to others and putting their ideas into visual form. Through these experiences I realized that an artist can have a useful and meaningful role of sharing aspects of a designated culture with others.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now