High Expectations: A bronzed resin sculpture on the subject of education and potential of our children

High-Expectations3.jpg
Although I left the United States and the city of Joliet, Illinois in 1975, and went to live in France, I often returned to do art work there for our association Friends of Community Public Art. This piece, ironically, was for the junior high school I attended as a young girl.

We decided to represent 3 children from the basic ethnic groups found in the school: European, African American, and Hispanic. I found three good models and brought them to the studio to pose. Here is Jamie, the most patient of the three:highJamie and ks.jpg

The little Hispanic girl looks very sad. I found out that she had serious problems at home and plenty to worry about. I wonder what the the three of them think now when they drive past their old junior high and see themselves there.

Here is the piece foundry ready:
highfoundry-ready.jpg

And here are a couple of shots of the finished piece in front of the school:
high-expectations.jpg

high-expectations-2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now