ART CHALLENGE: Getting Out of an Art Funk

So recently, a fellow artist friend of mine posted on social media that they feel like their art has been going through a stagnant, somewhat repetitive phase. They said that, looking over their Instagram feed, their most recent art posts seemed to... blend together, as if there wasn't anything standing out as much as it did before. Like any other friend, I recommended taking a well-deserved "art break".

Their reply? "Are you crazy, I can't stop, I literally live off my art, I can't take a break!"

Which is a well-founded opinion. Artists whose main income is, well, their art, bound to keep creating for as long as it gets them cash to put food on the table. But when an artist is in the danger zone of burning out and affecting how their art's going to look like, it's good to set limits. Or to challenge oneself further.

So I suggested they do an Art Style Challenge. Basically, this means just taking a break from their ORIGINAL STYLE, choosing a selection of cartoons/anime/classical art styles, and trying their hand out on making art that looks as close to that certain style as possible. It's an exercise in adapting your style to a different one, and in essence, learning bits and pieces of how different art styles work and growing more as an artist. It's a win-win, plus your social media feed will have some variety.

And guess who loves variety? Potential clients!

"But Nina, isn't that plagiarizing art? Will people say I'm merely tracing over an already-made art form?" Nope! Before beginning the challenge, openly state that THIS IS AN ART STYLE CHALLENGE, and make a vow to NOT TRACE over ready-made bases (there's so many online, it can be tempting!). Start with the easier styles that are closer to yours, then advance to more complicated ones.

I am also currently doing an Art Style Challenge! I've always had no particular style, but I do know my trademarks are: bright colors, exaggerated curves, mainly female subjects, and the lack of a background. Here's an example:

YANI BG postcard.jpg

And this is my most recent challenge piece, inspired by the anime "GANKUTSUOU: The Count of Monte Cristo":

gankutsou final.png

After recreating that certain anime style, I finally got out of my art funk regarding proper anatomy, and got over my fear of using contrasting patterns in textures. It's a learning experience, and it's a good challenge if you're an artist looking to expand their horizons.

So that's how I recommend beating an art rut/art block! Try new things, you never know how you'll surprise yourself. If you do the art challenge, write a post or post your results on social media. I'd love to see new results! Keep drawing, and as always, STEEM ON!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center