Lucy Westenra, 2017

tumblr_onbr4gQY4U1qdf107o3_1280.jpg

tumblr_onbr4gQY4U1qdf107o1_1280.jpg
The initial sketch.

My take on Lucy Westenra in the film Bram Stoker's Dracula... as imagined by the exceedingly brilliant Eiko Ishioka.

I saw this film as an impressionable 11 year-old and it has never really left my consciousness.

Eiko Ishioka's lush and edgy designs for costumes breathed so much life into the movie. I don't think it would have been the same, had it been done by a different designer.

I started my artistic journey with copying manga, and being heavily inspired by anime. I never really took formal lessons in life drawing so I always felt that realism was completely out of reach for me. This was my first real attempt at doing a realistic painting.

tumblr_onbr4gQY4U1qdf107o2_1280.jpg
The details in Lucy's costume took a lot of time and effort.

So much so that I had to wrap my hand with a kerchief to support my knuckles and wrist. I pushed on through the pain, and made something that I was very proud of. I finally felt that I have leveled up in my work!

There is a great satisfaction in knowing I am doing better work than I was previously. I am not at all a competitive person, and I spend a lot of time trying to "one-up" myself.

I find more joy in self-improvement than in competing with others.

Thank you so much for taking the time to look, and for the constructive and thoughtful comments. :)

If you are interested in looking at more of Eiko Ishioka's work:

https://www.wmagazine.com/story/eiko-ishioka-late-costume-designer-and-art-director

https://fashionista.com/2012/03/a-look-back-at-magical-work-of-mirror-mirror-costume-designer-eiko-ishioka

Rest in peace, Eiko. Thank you for your extraordinary vision and inspiration.

Lucy Westenra ©2017 by Ivy S.
(Graphite, India ink, and Golden Liquid Acrylics on watercolor paper.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center